INTERNATIONAL JAZZ DAY SALUTE TO NEW ORLEANS CONCERT

On Sunday, April 22, 2018, UNESCO and the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz hosted the International Jazz Day Salute to New Orleans, presented by Toyota, featuring an all-star cast of musicians. This special free eventpaid tribute to the city’s Tricentennial celebration. The show will be available on demand beginning at 19:00 New York on Monday, April 30, 00:00 London (May 1), 01:00 Paris (May 1), 02:00 St. Petersburg (May 1) and 08:00 Tokyo (May 1).

2018 INTERNATIONAL JAZZ DAY

The 2018 All-Star Global Concert will take place at the Mariinsky Theatre in Saint Petersburg, Russia and will be webcast on JazzDay.comand Facebook on Monday, April 30 at 16:00 New York, 21:00 London, 22:00 Paris, 23:00 St. Petersburg and 05:00 Tokyo (May 1).

Nearly three dozen acclaimed artists representing 14 countries including Unesco Goodwill Ambassador Herbie Hancock, who along with Igor Butman will serve as co-artistic directors, John Beasley who will serve as musical director, as well as Till BrönnerTerri Lyne CarringtonJoey DeFrancescoFatoumata DiawaraKurt EllingAntonio FaraòRobert GlasperGilad HekselmanHoracio HernandezThe Manhattan TransferBranford MarsalisMoscow Jazz OrchestraDanilo PérezDianne Reeves, and Lee Ritenour. Made possible through the generous support of Toyota.

INTERNATIONAL JAZZ DAY 2017 FROM CUBA ON PBS


To launch International Jazz Day Weekend 2018, PBS will be airing a very special broadcast of International Jazz Day 2017 from Havana, Cuba. The special, hosted by Will Smith and Quincy Jones, will air on Friday, April 27 on PBS stations across the country at 10pm Eastern, 9pm Central, 10pm Pacific.

The phenomenal concert live from the historic Gran Teatro de La Habana Alicia Alonso features performances by an all-star group of musicians from Cuba and around the world including Herbie HancockMarcus MillerEsperanza SpaldingChucho Valdes and more than 50 world-renowned artists. Made possible through the generous support of Toyota.

On 22 April, a special concert will commemorate the 300th anniversary of the founding of New Orleans, the birthplace of jazz, in the city’s historic Congo Square. This will start the official countdown to International Jazz Day, kicking off a series of education programmes throughout New Orleans public schools and around the world. The concert will be streamed on 30 April, International Jazz Day, as the lead-up to the live streaming of the All-Star Global Concert from Saint Petersburg.

As previously announced, Sydney, Australia, will serve as the Global Host City of International Jazz Day 2019 and next year’s All-Star Global Concert will be performed in the iconic Sydney Opera House, a UNESCO World Heritage site.

For more information about International Jazz Day 2018, please visit jazzday.com or UNESCO.org.

The Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz is once again working with UNESCO and its field offices, National Commissions, Associated Schools Network, universities and institutes, public radio and television broadcasters, and NGOs to secure their participation in International Jazz Day.

Additionally, in countries throughout the world, libraries, schools, universities, performing arts venues, community centres, artists, and arts organizations of all disciplines will be celebrating the Day through presentations, concerts, and other jazz-focused programmes.

International Jazz Day programming has been made possible thanks to the support of 2018 lead partner, Toyota, whose vision and generosity contribute to the celebration’s tangible impact in communities around the globe.